Recommendations

BY ANY OTHER NAME BY ERIN COTTER // blog tour book feature: happy release day to this queer historical romance i need injected into my veins!!!

Gosh dang it am I excited about today’s post!!!!

Welcome to the final stop on the By Any Other Name Book Tour, which is also the release day (!!!) for this gem. A huge thanks to Coloured Pages Tours for having me!

Title: By Any Other Name
Author: Erin Cotter
Page count: 464
Date published: 10 October 2023
Genre: Young Adult historical fantasy romance

🗡️

Synopsis:

A down-on-his-luck actor and an English lord reluctantly team up to solve the murder of Christopher Marlowe in this Shakespearean-era young adult romp perfect for fans of F.T. Lukens and Mackenzi Lee.

London, 1593. Sixteen-year-old Will Hughes is busy working on Shakespeare’s stage, stuffing his corsets with straw and pretending to be someone else. Offstage, he’s playing a part, too. The son of traitors, Will is desperate to keep his identity secret—or risk being killed in the bloody queen’s imperial schemes. All he wants is to lay low until he earns enough coin to return to his family.

But when his mentor, the famous playwright Christopher Marlowe, is murdered under mysterious circumstances, Will’s plans are hopelessly dashed. What’s worse, Marlowe was a spy for the queen, tasked with stalking a killer rumored to be part of an elusive order of assassins, and his secrets and untimely death have put Will under a harsh spotlight. And so, when Will unwittingly foils an attempt on the queen’s life, she names him her next spymaster.

Now, to avoid uncomfortable questions, prison, or an even more terrible fate, Will reluctantly starts his new career, which—yes—will secure him the resources to help his family…but at what cost? Adding insult to injury is the young Lord James Bloomsbury, Will’s new comrade in arms, whose entitled demeanor and unfairly handsome looks get under Will’s skin immediately.

Together, the two hunt the cunning assassin, defend the queen’s life, and pray to keep their own…all while an unexpected connection blossoms between them.

🗡️

 

🗡️

Big thanks to Simon & Schuster for the eARC via Netgalley and to CP Tours for having me on the tour! All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Due to circumstances out of my control aka the heaviest course load known to mankind and also a *cough* thesis *cough* I have had zero time to finish this book. Might be a slight exaggeration, but I do have far too many deadlines for my own sanity and I really have had time to read absolutely nothing. So yay me.

LETS TAKE A MINUTE TO ADMIRE THE COVER!!! CRY OVER IT!!! BECAUSE WHAT THE HECKING HECK HOW IS SHE SO STUNNING?!?!?!

But I am absolutely over the moon excited about this book because did you read that synopsis? If not, do yourself a favour and read it again. This book literally sounds like the best thing ever.

And from what I’ve read so far? CHEFS FREAKING KISS. The writing is literally brilliant and I cannot wait to continue!!!

You had me at solving murders in 1500s London,,, Not to mention the sprinkle of queer romance. With a cover like that? Are they kidding?

S&S have outdone themselves and gosh am I excited to read.

Erin Cotter writes young adult fiction. Originally from Buffalo, New York, she currently calls Austin home. When not writing she spends time with her partner and pets, eating tacos, and searching for Golden-cheeked Warblers in the Texas Hill Country.

🗡️

Website // Instagram


HAVE YOU READ THIS BOOK? ARE YOU AS EXCITED AS I AM? WHAT ARE YOUR FAVOURITE HISTORICAL FANTASIES? I’D LOVE TO KNOW!

Leave a Reply

Skip to content